Bill of Rights Defense Campaign

BILL OF RIGHTS Defense Committee - Working with communities to uphold the Bill of RightsWe the People
Bookmark and Share

BORDC's Advisory Board

W. David Ball is a research fellow at the Stanford Criminal Justice Center and will soon be a professor at Santa Clara Law School. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Association of Muslim Lawyers.

David Cole is a professor at Georgetown University Law Center and a pro bono attorney with the Center for Constitutional Rights. He is author of several books, including Enemy Aliens: Double Standards and Constitutional Freedoms in the War on Terrorism.

Morris Davis is executive director and counsel for the Crimes of War Education Project. He served as a judge advocate in the United States Air Force from October 1983 until retiring as a colonel in October 2008. From 2005 until 2007, he served as the chief prosecutor for the military commissions at Guantánamo Bay, a position he resigned because of his objection to the use of evidence obtained by torture and growing political interference in the military commissions.

Thomas A. Drake, a ten-year veteran of the Air Force (specializing in intelligence), was a senior executive at the National Security Agency when he exposed the agency's warrantless wiretapping and waste. In response to his whistleblowing, he was indicted under the Espionage Act but, after a four-year investigation and prosecution, the government's case against him collapsed; the judge called the handling of his case "unconscionable." Drake, who now speaks regularly about his experiences, was honored for his courage with the Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling for 2010.

Daniel Ellsberg, Ph.D., is a former United States military analyst and whistleblower. His historic release of the Pentagon Papers, a top-secret Pentagon study of the Vietnam War, is chronicled in the documentary The Most Dangerous Man in America.

Bruce Fein is a constitutional law scholar and chairman of the American Freedom Agenda. He served under President Ronald Reagan as deputy attorney general and is the author of Constitutional Peril: The Life and Death Struggle for Our Constitution and Democracy.

Lisa Graves, former BORDC president, became the executive director of the Center for Media and Democracy in July 2009. She previously served as a senior advisor in all three branches of the federal government, as a leading strategist on civil liberties advocacy, and as an adjunct professor at George Washington University School of Law.

Jennifer Harbury is a human rights lawyer and one of the founders of Torture Abolition and Survivor Support Coalition International (TASSC). She is the author of several books, including Truth, Torture, and the American Way and Searching for Everardo: A Story of Love, War, and the CIA in Guatemala.

David A. Harris is a professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, a leading authority on racial profiling, and author of Profiles in Injustice: Why Racial Profiling Cannot Work.

Marcia Hofmann is an Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) staff attorney working on government transparency, civil liberties, and intellectual property issues. She co-founded EFF's FOIA Litigation for Accountable Government (FLAG) Project.

Aziz Huq is a professor at the University of Chicago Law School. He formerly served as deputy director of the Brennan Center for Justice at New York University Law School and as a clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. He is also a prominent litigator and author, with Fritz Schwartz, of Unchecked and Unbalanced: Presidential Power in a Time of Terror.

Benjamin Todd Jealous is the President and CEO of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).

Sep Kamvar is a consulting professor of computational mathematics at Stanford University whose research focuses on data mining and information retrieval.

Lawrence Lessig is a professor at Harvard Law School and faculty director of Harvard University’s Edmond J. Safra Foundation Center for Ethics. He is also founder of Stanford Law School's Center for Internet and Society. He is also founder of Stanford Law School's Center for Internet and Society, and author of several renowned books including Code: And Other Laws of Cyberspace, Version 2.0; The Future of Ideas: The Fate of the Commons in a Connected World; and Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity.

Jumana Musa is a human rights attorney and activist. She is currently the policy director for the Rights Working Group.

Stephen Rohde, a constitutional lawyer, is chair of the American Civil Liberties Union Foundation of Southern California and author of American Words of Freedom and Freedom of Assembly. He is also Chair of Interfaith Communities United For Justice And Peace in Los Angeles.

Marc Rotenberg is executive director of the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC) in Washington, DC, and teaches information privacy law at Georgetown University Law Center. He is editor of The Privacy Law Sourcebook and co-editor of Information Privacy Law.

Coleen Rowley is a former FBI special agent/division legal counsel, whistleblower, and prominent civil liberties activist.

Sudha Setty is the Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Intellectual Life and a professor at Western New England University School of Law. Her work focuses on comparative rule of law and national security issues.

Chris Townsend is political action director of the United Electrical Workers Union (UE). He drafted and supported the passage of the first civil liberties resolution to receive the support of a national labor union.

Vince Warren is the executive director of the Center for Constitutional Rights and a former national senior staff attorney with the American Civil Liberties Union.

Naomi Wolf is the author of seven books, including The End of America and Give Me Liberty. She is a cofounder of the Woodhull Institute for Ethical Leadership and the American Freedom Campaign.

Board of Directors